top of page

Natural Creativity & Pinterest


One of my FAVORITE things about the photo session process is when I sit down at my computer and take that first glance of some of the photos I knew would be my favorites. There have been many times I just gasp at the beauty of a natural expression caught at the perfect moment or the sun is perfectly positioned in the sky to illuminate breathtaking features.

I used to go in to my photo sessions with a mental checklist of different poses, but I have learned over the past year to not go into a photo session with many preconceived ideas of the types of shots I want. Why? Spontaneity unleashes endless possibilities of unguarded, unhindered and unplanned for moments. If I only stuck to a list of poses and backgrounds I had in mind during a session, those poses would likely feel rehearsed and dry. So during the session I will look for inspiration. Often it's in the walking around, exploring different textures or backgrounds or getting up high for a different angle. A lot of inspiration comes in the details of my client's outfit(s) or learning their personal taste that I decide what will look best. I LOVE giving my client some creative freedom, too, in picking some places they'd like to be photographed. After all, it's about them! I'm just there to help capture their personality.

On a couple occasions, I'll have a client who has found a photo on Pinterest and would like to capture something similar for their own session. I absolutely think Pinterest is the best thing since sliced bread, especially when I'm in a creative dry spell for my graphic design. And while occasionally I will try to accomplish a desired look my client has seen on Pinterest and wants me to try, I need to keep in mind that if I want my work to uniquely stand out, I have to be cautious of certain trends. I dread taking photos that soon look outdated or cheesy because of a photography style that was hot at the time. So, please, get inspired and find ideas, but try to resist the urge to copy styles and make your session one of a kind!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page