top of page

Tea Bags Repurposed for Good


Oh central Illinois weather...you're a mix of warm, chilly, freezing, sun, rain, sleet, snow (often all in the same day)! So, my camera and I patiently wait for things to thaw out and green up. But if there's anything good about the winter and early spring is that it provides a welcomed break from photo sessions. It keeps burnout from setting in, which is great for someone like me who jumps from hobby to hobby. So now that it's springtime, I'm ready to get at it again.

What am I doing with tea bags?

I had been thinking about ways I could start generating donations for the non-profits I'm partnering with (The Outlet, Wooden It Be Lovely, and Refuge Ranch) until I start getting more sessions scheduled. I was scrolling on Instagram and came across a photo of tea bag art. I was so captivated by how such a small, simple used tea bag could become a mini canvas for someone creative. I immediately wondered if I this could be a creative way to raise funds for them! So, I decided to make a few and people seemed to love them! I began asking people to save me their used tea bags. I created "Steep Your Life in Love" cards that held two tea bags that someone could give as a gift, use as a bookmark or token of appreciation. I started getting orders for Valentine's day tea bags and sold a few here and there and before I knew it I was coming close to $500 in sales for these non-profits and I hadn't even had a single photo session yet! I sold nearly all of the tea bags at Wooden It Be Lovely's spring sale! Now, I'm nearing $1000 and I just mailed an order to Bigelow Tea Company after the president and CEO contacted me! I'm getting a decent number of orders, too! They're such a fun, simple yet beautiful way to make a charitable donation on someone's behalf while receiving a fun gift yourself!

If you'd like to get some tea bags for yourself or for a tea-lover in your life, I'd love to send you some in the mail! Purchasing a card ($10/per card of two tea bags) is a small but important way you can support one of these wonderful organizations. Check out my personal Facebook page to see some I've done. If you're interested in learning more about my photography, check out my photography website.

Each tea bag has unique character and absorbs the dyes and watercolors differently and are individually designed. Email me and I'll send you all the details. Steep your life in love, my friends!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page