top of page

Stepping back


All my life I've dabbled into one hobby here, another hobby there. I'd dive in and go hard at it for at least a year until I'd get my fill and be done completely. When I found a passion for photography in 2016 and launched my mission, I knew it would be for a season. But little did I know that it would take off like it did! Fast forward four years and about 150 sessions, and $20,000+ donated to local charities later, I've found myself fighting a little burnout editing 6 to 8 hours per session on top of working a full-time job with the State and implementing a new rigorous kickboxing schedule that began making my late-night photo edits nearly impossible. Another reason for this decision is to be more intentional with spending time with my family. Life is short, and I don't want to miss out on the moments I have with my husband, my mom and my friends because of my bookings. I no longer want to be stretched too thin to give them the best version of me.


The end of May 2020 will mark the end of my photography as it is now. I did not make this decision lightly. Believe me, I have made up my mind then changed it all in the same day. I've made a list of the things I could do differently, but ultimately the only thing that would alleviate the burnout would be to put the camera gear away. I put tears and lots of prayer into this decision because I've met some incredible families who've trusted me with capturing their family or seniors. I've loved finding those photos during the editing process where I actually say out loud, "oh my goodness, they're going to love this photo." Those God winks kept me focused on why He put this photography mission on my heart. But I believe God also knew I would need to hit the pause button on photography either to not lose my passion for it altogether or to make room/time for a new passion He will give me. Either way, I'm excited to enter a season of rest, rejuvenation, and to quiet my life enough to hear where He will lead me next.


Since my photo season will be short, I've decided to partner with only one local non-profit... Friends of Sangamon County Animal Control. Being the animal lover I am, this only makes sense to end my run supporting this non-profit.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page